Thursday, August 7, 2014

AFMA Announces First Recipient of the Paul T. O’Day Scholarship Award

The American Fiber Manufacturers Association ("AFMA") has announced Ms. Elaine (Lainey) Indermaur of Oak Ridge, N.C. as the first recipient of the Paul T. O’Day Scholarship Award.

Ms. Indermaur was graduated in June with honors from Northwest Guilford High School, Greensboro, North Carolina. She will attend North Carolina State University in the fall to pursue a major in biomedical engineering. In addition to excelling in academics at Northwest Guilford Ms. Indermaur was active in a wide array of other activities, including the school’s soccer team and the annual “We The People” competition.

AFMA Board Chairman Lowell Bivens, President & CEO of Polyamide High Performance, Inc., commented, “All of us on the AFMA Board of Directors congratulate Ms. Indermaur on her remarkable academic achievements. We are delighted to recognize her dedication and hard work with her selection as the first scholarship recipient.”

The AFMA Board established the scholarship program earlier this year in honor of Paul T. O’Day who has served as AFMA’s President for three decades. Scholarship recipients receive a $5,000 award each year, totaling $20,000 for four years of study. Sons or daughters of AFMA member company employees are eligible to apply. Ms. Indermaur’s father, Fred Indermaur, is an employee of Unifi Manufacturing, Inc.

The American Fiber Manufacturers Association is the U.S. national trade association representing the interests of America’s manufactured fiber producers and the official source for U.S. fiber industry data. Information on the Association’s activities and products is displayed on the AFMA FiberSource website at

No comments:

Post a Comment